Sign in:

Taj Mahal

Jahangiri Mahal

Agra Fort

Fatehpur Sikri

Akbar's Tomb

Mariam's Tomb

Diwan - E - Aam

Taj Mahal At Sunset

About the Agra Circle

Dr. Bhuvan Vikrama

Superintending Archaeologist

T he Agra Circle erstwhile Northern Circle is one of the oldest circles of the ASI. It was established in the year 1885, with its headquarters at 22, the Mall, Agra. Eminent personalities like R. Froude Tucker, M. Muhammad Shuaib, Gordon Sanderson, H. Hargreaves, J.F. Blackiston, J.A. Page, Maulavi Zafar Hassan, M.S. Vats, K.N. Puri, B.B. Lal, S.C. Chandra, S.R. Rao, N.R. Banerjee, Y.D. Sharma, D.R. Patil, W.H. Siddiqui and other scholars have headed the Circle. There are 397 monuments /sites under the jurisdiction of Agra Circle spreading in 24 districts of Western Uttar Pradesh including those of three World Heritage Monuments viz. Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and Fatehpur Sikri, all of the Mughal period and located in district of Agra. The Circle is conserving and managing the monuments and sites through its 08 sub-circle viz. Taj Mahal, Agra Fort, Fatehpur Sikri, Sikandara, Itimad-ud-Daulah, Mathura, Kannauj and Meerut.

Monuments Gallery

Le lapin blanc needs to be follow! Did you know this?